Death At a Funeral

I’m pretty sure that “Death at a Funeral” is one of the funniest movies to have graced television screens anywhere. I’m talking about the British version, not hte ripped off U.S. version which I haven’t even honoured by viewing, and I’m not sure I eventually will.

The movie stars Matthew Macfadyen and…well, he’s pretty much the only actor I’m familiar with in this film (sad, I know) apart from the short guy who I’ve seen in various films but whose name I don’t actually know.

Anyway, moving away from my ignorance and to the point of this post: this movie centres around Daniel (Macfadyen) and his brother Robert, and occurs on the day of their father’s funeral. The plot of the movie fits into the length of a single day – actually less than a single day, and it is in this simplicity that the genius of the film lies.

Although the film is about the funeral of the family patriarch, he is very quickly and very easily pushed to the back of audience’s minds; simmering in the undercurrents are the rivalry between the two brothers, an anxious boyfriend who’s overdosed on hallucinogenics, and a strange guest whom nobody knows who demands a small fortune in return for his silence regarding his gay relationship with the brothers’ father.

Needless to say, hilarity ensues as everyone tries to keep their own particular affairs hush hush, and the viewer – or, at least, this viewer – can’t help but giggle delightedly at the farcical plot, the countless misunderstandings, and the cringe-worthy moments that inevitably arise.



Isn’t it beautiful? I just love the ivy on the front.



The film is on the mark and the acting so natural that you eventually start to count yourselfs as one of the guests at this unlikely funeral, enjoying the bewildering events taking place around you. And though the entire film is shot mostly in a single family home, I thought it was beautiful. For some reason, the pervailing colours that come into my mind when I think of this film are green and blue. Nearly half the film takes place outside in the gardens, and the walls inside are the most calming shade of blue that it’s a bit jarring with all the confusion and stress that occurs inside it.  
I dare anyone to sit through the length of this film and not snicker at all the confusion and drama that unfolds. I think this movie has probably joined the elite group of my all-time favorite films. And may I just add that a confused, stressed Macfadyen is one of hte most adorable images ever? Maybe it comes from being a die hard P&P fan, who can’t help but squeal inwardly at Macfadyen’s two shy proposals as Darcy. In any case, he was one of the many delightful icings on an already very delicious and hillarious cake. Ok, stupid metaphor. Bottom line: awesome movie. Go watch it.
Leave a Reply

