A Little Bit of Sleeping & a Little Bit of Tagging


Dear Reader,
First of all: Happy Easter! Here in NZ, it’s already Sunday, so it might not be quite the same for you yet, but when it does arrive I hope it is just as splendid. 

I kept meaning to write up a blog post but this last week has been a bit of a whirlwind. More so than my usual whirlwind weeks. Between work and assignments I was left with no time to myself. And even less time to sleep. 

Martin Freeman, BBC Sherlock
 But when I logged in today, after catching on some much needed sleep, it was to find that I had been tagged by the lovely Nessima, of Arda Nessima. I’m a recent follower of hers, and I absolutely love her little  corner of cyberspace. Every time I visit it, it always feels so magical and soothing. 
So this is how this tagging thing works: 
1. Post these rules
2. Post 11 random things about yourself (optional)
3. Answer the questions the tagger posted for you in their post.
4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
5. Go to their blog and tell them that they have been tagged
11 Random Things About Myself:
1)  I have a bad habit of reading several books at once. 

2) And when a couple of those books are to do with school, and challenges I’ve chosen to participate in, it leaves me feeling slightly pressured.
3)  Despite this, I still continue doing it. I think sometimes I like a change of scenery or something, but to me it feels very much as if I lack discipline.

4) Currently, I’m on a bit of a Sherlock Holmes rage, and I borrowed “The Hound of the Baskervilles” to placate that raging she-hulk inside me.

5) Unfortunately that she-hulk is not placated, because it turns out that “The Hound of the Baskervilles” was actually published much later than “The Sign of Four” (the second novel/story in the series). 

6) And as I’m trying to read the stories in order, it has left the she-hulk inside me seething slightly. Not that slightly.

7) When I was about nine or ten my dad tried to introduce us to Shakespeare by watching Kenneth Branagh’s  “Othello” and “Hamlet”. It’s debatable whether that was a good idea or not.

8) And for some weird reason, I developed a bit of a crush on that Danish emo. I think it was the white hair and dark clothes of his – the combination just really made an impression on me.  And even now, I have to say that it’s in “Hamlet” Branagh really looks his best. 

Kenneth Branagh, Hamlet
9) Despite that my favorite character that Branagh plays is Benedick in his own adaptation of “Much Ado About Nothing”. It is from one of Benedick’s quotes that I get my name: “What, my dear Lady Disdain! Are you yet living?” 😉 

10) Coincidentally, Beatrice & Benedick from Much Ado are one of my favorite fictional couples. Ever. “Is it possible disdain should die while she hath such meet food to feed it as Signor Benedick?” These two rock my socks. Even when I’m not wearing any.

11) I recently watched “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” and the fan girl in me died a thousand and one deaths seeing all those great actors & actresses together in one film. Twas epic. Also I might be developing a bit of a crush on Bill Nighy.
And now for the 11 Questions from the fantastical Nessima:
1) What is your earliest memory from childhood?
When I was about five, I was playing in the garden. There were these flowers that I especially liked. They grew on a small plant, and each stem would have a cluster of about nine or ten tiny flowers. They were perfect. Pink and purple petals, perfectly rounded. And they all sat so cozily nestled against each other. I picked off a stem with a single cluster, and, before going to sleep, placed it on the windowsill next to my bed. The next morning when I woke up the little flowers had turned into worms. There was no trace of any petals.
Now that’s most likely a dream, I think I dreamed that they would be worms in the morning. But it’s very vivid in my mind, more vivid than any memory I have of the time.
2) You have a choice of being given any super-power; what is it?
Flying. It would definitely have to be flying. I absolutely adore the thought of flying. I can really work myself into a state of exhilaration just thinking about how freeing it would be. 
3) Describe to me that outfit in your head, the one you wish you had so badly…
A cloche hat, preferably red, with a black band around it. 
A dress, cinched in at the waist, with a circular skirt, handy for twirling, that falls to the knees. 
Gloves and a fashionable coat.
And 1940s pumps to top it all off.
4) What’s your favorite musical instrument? What image comes to mind when you think of this instrument?
I adore both the flute and piano. I learn both, but I’m much better at flute so I prefer to play that. However, no one can deny the beauty of the piano. So for me, it’s a tie. 
The piano invokes a thousand images for me: water rippling over stone, autumn leaves lazily floating down, dancers in the moonlight.
The flute for some reason also brings to mind the thought of flying. Long notes that soar, or smaller, sharper ones that loop and weave through each other – closing my eyes and listening to them, I think of Peter Pan dancing in the air so carelessly, or a bird pushing on the wind, traveling great distances.
5) Would you rather be divinely beautiful, angelically good or dazzlingly clever?  
I’ll have to pick dazzlingly clever, I’m afraid. Isn’t that what everyone wants? As Lizzie Bennet says “We are … unwilling to speak, unless we expect to say something that will amaze the whole room, and be handed down to posterity with all the eclat of a proverb.” Ok, maybe not with all the eclat of a proverb, but I’d definitely opt for the next best thing – a consistently sharp wit. 

6) Are you more likely to be found in an old attic with your nose in a book, or will you be hanging out at the mall with your besties?
I’ll take the attics with the books. Firstly, because: books. Need I say more? And secondly: attic! I have never been inside an attic in my life. (Though I have yearned for one all my life as a kid.)  And one filled with books? That would have to be the best kind, I think. Also, malls don’t really appeal to me. I don’t like how … shiny they are. If that makes sense. 

7) If you could’ve been born in any time period (other than your own), what would it be?
I would love to say the nineteenth century, as I am a self-confessed Austen fan. However, there is the highly pressing issue of plumbing. Or lack thereof, as the case may be. And me, I like my plumbing, thank you very much. Flushing toilets are a good thing. Plus, how often did they have baths/showers, exactly? Doesn’t really mention that in “Pride & Prejudice” now, does it?
Therefore, I will have to choose one of my other favorite time periods: The Roaring Twenties! Also known as The Jazz Age. Must not start drooling. I absolutely love the fashion and the thought of vibrant, buzzing Harlem New York just gets me salivating. 

via

via



The jazz, the class, the hats. *sigh* Is it any wonder I’m a sopping mess?


8) Is your preferred weapon a bow and quiver of arrows, or a magnificently wrought sword (you’re allowed to be all clever and say “wit”)?
Well, I already have the wit (ha) so I’ll take the bow & quiver of arrows, thanks. 

9) Your preferred mode of travel?
Flying! And I don’t mean by plane. I mean just flying. Like Peter Pan. (Hey, Nessima chose a dragon so I get to choose this ok?) 

10) You hear about a new historical or fantasy movie that is coming out soon. You are:
a) Ecstatic: your favorite dream-boat of an actor is in it!
b) Super-stoked: the book that it’s based on is amazing!
c) Excited to see the costumes, of course!
d) Your favorite composer is doing the soundtrack. Need I say more?
e) Going just to see the horses which will undoubtedly be gorgeous.
f) Not going at all; there is a new sci-fi thriller out that begs to be watched!
Hmm, well, (1) generally I’m not much of a fantasy fan. [Although I’ve made the decision to expand my knowledge in that area] and (2) I would have chosen f, but I’m even less of a sci-fan than I am a fantasy one, and (3) while I drool over my fair share of dream-boats (Hamlet, anyone?) I don’t pick films based solely on that. But (4) this doesn’t stop me from picking films based on books, so b it is. (No, I couldn’t just give the answer, I had to take the long way.) 

11) Of all the places in this word, the place you love most is…?
My bed. Seriously. I absolutely love sleeping. And not just sleeping, but the moment just before sleep, when you can feel sleep creeping over you and pushing your eye lids gently down, and the sense of comfort and resignation that comes over you as your body lifts up and away…I like that. 

Aside from that, any place outside with lots of greenery, trees, plants, lampposts, and little bridges over a stream of water.

BONUS QUESTION (purely optional:) You have been tossed into a book; describe to me the adventure that follows this interesting turn of events…

The book that I would love to be thrown would have to be a good adventure, but not one that takes place in several different lands – just one city is fine (I’m thinking London or Egypt) with a good mystery, maybe involving some good old artefacts, and some interesting sidekicks who are both snarky and talented (cos really, where would we all be without snark and talent?)
I’m obviously not going to describe every single detail because then it really would  be a novel (don’t doubt my ability to get wordy), so all I’m going to say is I love really good adventures with great characters who have a strong bond of friendship, and great helpings of snarky with between them.  And also some good mentor figures, maybe a McGonagall or a Dumbledore. Oh, I long for a Dumbledore in real life.
11 Random Questions from Lady Disdain:
1)      If you could have one fictional character enter your own reality, who would it be?
2)     In your experience, what is the kindest thing you have seen anyone do that really touched your heart and made you rejoice in humanity? (It could be a stranger, a family member, or even yourself who did it.)
3)     If you could be anywhere but here at this very moment, fictional or real, where would you be?
4)     What, in your opinion, does it take to be a truly admirable hero/heroine, in films, books or reality?
5)     Have you ever been to a play/concert/performance? Which one was the most memorable and why?
6)     Which time period in fashion most appeals to you?
7)     If you could be any animal in the world, which one would you be, and why?
8)    Describe something that was really influential in your childhood. (If it’s too personal, then describe the second most influential moment, and so on).
9)     What is your absolute favorite thing about this world we live in (excluding people)?
10) What is your least favorite aspect in people?
11)  And, to end on a good note, what is your most favorite attribute in a person?

BONUS QUESTION: and because I liked Nessima’s last bonus question so much, I’m going to include it myself (imitation, they say, is the best kind of flattery) and I am curious as to what you all will say, soooo“You have been tossed into a book; describe to me the adventure that follows this interesting turn of events…

Now to tag some unsuspecting victims:

Joy of turn pagess, press leaves
Kat of Kat’s Literary Journey
Bookgirl of Random Thoughts
Jane GS of Reading, Writing, Working, Playing
Elissa of Awesome, Fearsome
Books & Lyrics, and LitLover of On Page Whatever
Liz of  Books, bonnets & full-frontal blogging

And if any of you reading this would like to try out the questions yourselves on your blog, then please feel free. Just leave a link in the comments so I can read your answers, too 😉

Sincerely,
  Lady Disdain

3 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Sleeping & a Little Bit of Tagging

Leave a Reply

