"Six Impossible Things" by Fiona Wood

via

“I was shy and my mother used to tell me to ‘just join in’. But that didn’t work so well for me. It still embarrasses me remembering some of my terminal clangers. One time in grade five, i was sitting next to a girl I liked, psyching myself to say something, anything, when she started speaking to me. 

‘There’s this sky I really like,’ she whispered. We were supposed to be drawing a map of national park areas in the Northern Territory. 

‘There’s this sky I like too,’ I said, joining in. ‘It’s right after a storm, with the sun behind rain clouds, and the colour is like dark grey trying to be purple.’

‘Guy. Not sky. He’s a friend of yours.’

‘Oh. Who?’

But clearly the time for sharing was over.

‘Just forget it.’

She turned her back to me, pointing her knees out to the aisle. Neither of us could believe how stupid I was.”

I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since it first came out – which was sometime in 2010 so you can see how great I am with attacking my ‘TBR’ list.

Dan Cereill is fifteen years old, has just discovered that the family business is bankrupt, leaving them all without any money, that his parents are splitting up, and what’s more, his dad is gay.

“Guys, please, one life-changing shock at a time.”

This book is funny. It won’t make you roar with laughter, but there are enough humorous lines sprinkled in there to make you let out a chuckle every so often. After his parents split up, Dan moves with his mother into a house which his great Aunt Adelaide has been kind enough to let them live in. They’re people who have been accustomed to a life of luxury, and now with barely enough money to pay the bills both Dan and his mom are in dire need of jobs.

Not only that, Dan’s also forced to move schools, and try and achieve the all-important –and seemingly impossible – challenge of Fitting In. Add to this confusing mixture the girl next door, Estelle, who plucks Dan’s heart right out of his rib cage, and you’ve got a pretty entertaining story.

“She walks in beauty – yes, like the night of cloudless climes and starry skies – with one iPod earbud in at all times – the soundtrack of her life.”

“Six Impossible Things” is a short and fun read and I absolutely adored it. I went into with high expectations and for the first few chapters I’m sure there was a permanent half-smile on my face. However, as the book continued that smile kind of faded. As I said it’s a quick read, so the characters aren’t exactly meaty. People seem a little too glossed over, and the resolutions to some of the problems were fairly predictable. Having said that, I was very entertained and Dan’s a sweet enough character that I couldn’t help but root for.

Also, to the gratification of the word nerd inside me, there are several literary references. You know, just sayin’, in case you’re a fellow lit nut.

2.9/5 stars

Sincerely,

Lady Disdain 

 
2 thoughts on “"Six Impossible Things" by Fiona Wood

  1. Sounds like a good book. I am reading these coming-of-age sort of books at the time and I think I would read this one too (thanks for the review).

    I just finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower and I liked it.

    Like

  2. I do have a liking for YA books, and this one was an especially funny one (and well-written).

    Ooh, “Wallflower” is a great book! I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's being turned into a film soon, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

