Almost Everything, Everything Was On Point

ee

Maddy is sick. Really sick. Like can’t-leave-the-house-or-her-body-will-shut-down kind of sick. As far as she can remember of her eighteen years, she has been confined to her home with her mother and her nurse, Carla, for company. She has been home-schooled, and her only visitor is her architect teacher. Maddy is happy. She is happy reading all the books she can, building mini architecture models, and having game nights with her mom.

But when the new boy next door, Olly, walks into her life everything changes. Suddenly Maddy wants more. She wants to see the world and experience everything it has to offer.

I have to admire the dexterous balance that Nicola Yoon strikes with her simple, easy to gobble up writing style that simultaneously manages to be quite beautiful at the same time. She really does make it seem effortless. Reading the novel feels like slipping into a sundae.

Maddy is a likeable character. She is intelligent, mature, with a sense of humour, and good nature that’s allowed her to face her unique life without wallowing deeply in bitterness.Olly is equally well-characterized. He comes with his own set of problems. His home life is tainted by his dad’s violent outbursts. Maddy and Olly’s easy interaction was enjoyable to read.

Despite these good points, however, this novel did leave me feeling a bit non-plussed. First off, as enjoyable as the banter between Maddy and Olly was, their immediate adoration for each other was not. It was easy to see that they were going to fall in love, and I was all for them falling in love but the journey to the destination was far too short to be believable. Or at least for me to believe that their love had weight. I think the initial stages of their relationship could have been fleshed out a whole lot more.

Secondly, there is a twist at the end of the novel which renders the entire preceding character development that Maddy undergoes completely irrelevant. It was far too easy a solution and it was actually quite disappointing to read. I was eager to see how Yoon might portray the harder choices in life, and the consequences of sticking to them, and while she does to an extent, she doesn’t fully deliver on her message. The relationship between Maddy and her mother could also have been fleshed out, especially near the end. When the novel ends, it does not feel satisfying at all. Yoon tries to tie everything up with a neat little bow, and considering what she was trying to offer the payoff felt very insufficient.

8 thoughts on “Almost Everything, Everything Was On Point

  1. I was just rereading my review for this either today or yesterday, and it was so great until the twist and then it was just so not. I enjoyed the writing enough to finish but, man, was it disappointing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this one, but I did read her upcoming book The Sun Is Also A Star and really enjoyed it. That book includes a 7-10 page excerpt from Everything, Everything which didn’t pull me in as quickly. Good review, though, and I may still decide to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I heard mostly positive things about this book, at least on Goodreads. I was ready to buy it a couple of weeks ago when I was at B&N, but I couldn’t find it, so I bought More Happy Than Not Instead. I’ll probably read it eventually, but now I’m really curious about what that twist at the end was.

    Like

Leave a Reply

